Top Ten Tuesday – Freebie

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic is freebie.

Since the past two years were a stressful & busy time for me, I stopped reading for fun and only recently got back into reading, starting with creating this blog! Because of this, I’m going to do the top 10 books I want to read. These included both released and unreleased books. Warning: potential spoilers for some book series

*Summary taken from Goodreads

 

  1. Untitled (Throne of Glass #6)

Expected publication: September 5, 2017

This is the final installment to Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series, which follows Erilea’s most feared assassin, Celaena Sardothien. As she navigates the dangerous court of Adarlan, she will forge friendships, experience betrayals, and face her dark past while figuring out her destiny.

This is my absolute favorite series and I highly recommend this series to everyone! I love (almost) everything about it, from the characters to the plot, the world-building to the writing. Sarah J. Maas knows how to craft a deeply compelling story with strong but flawed characters. Her writing flows beautifully; there are action scenes full of badassery and there are emotional scenes that completely wreck me for ages afterwards.

I both can and can’t wait for this book: I don’t want this series to be over but I need to know what happens next after the cliffhanger in Empire of Storms.

 

  1. Strange the Dreamer*28449207

Expected publication: March 28, 2017

Strange the Dreamer is the story of:
the aftermath of a war between gods and men
a mysterious city stripped of its name
a mythic hero with blood on his hands
a young librarian with a singular dream
a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.
Welcome to Weep.

I loved Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. Her writing is gorgeous and her story-telling is exceptional. Even the blurb for her new book is to-die-for. It doesn’t really reveal much but that’s part of what I love about Laini Taylor’s books. They are full of mystery and intrigue, hiding secrets that I can’t wait to find out.

 

  1. A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire, #2)10572

George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series is about the struggle between characters for the Iron Throne. Full of blood and betrayal, the books draw inspiration from history but incorporate many fantastical elements. We get to know a staggering cast of morally-gray characters hailing from various noble houses—Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, Targaryen, to name a few—as they vie for power.

“When you play a game of thrones, you win or you die.”

I am obsessed with HBO’s Game of Thrones, adapted from George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series. However good the TV show is, I know that the showrunners cannot include everything from GRRM’s expansive series. While I love the story and characters, the writing can sometimes plod along with all the long descriptions. However, with the upcoming Game of Thrones Live Concert Experience (I am going to the one on March 6 at TD Garden) and season 7, I have renewed motivation to continue the series.

 

  1. Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)*30312891

Expected publication: May 23, 2017

Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?
And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear—before it’s too late.

After being disappointed by Lady Midnight, I wasn’t that excited for the second book of Cassandra Clare’s The Dark Artifices series. However, after re-reading The Infernal Devices, I remembered how much I loved the Shadowhunter world. There are definitely parts of this book that I’m not excited to read about (*cough Emma and Mark’s “relationship” cough*) but I’m excited to immerse myself back into the Shadowhunter world for another tale full of intrigue and mystery.

 

  1. A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3)*29939230

Expected publication: February 21, 2017

Londons fall and kingdoms rise while darkness sweeps the Maresh Empire—and the fraught balance of magic blossoms into dangerous territory while heroes and foes struggle alike. The direct sequel to A Gathering of Shadows, and the final book in the Shades of Magic epic fantasy series, A Conjuring of Light sees Schwab reach a thrilling culmination concerning the fate of beloved protagonists—and old enemies.

I thought the first book, A Darker Shade of Magic, was just okay but the second book, A Gathering of Shadows, was much better. (Can I please take a moment to fangirl over how beautiful the covers and titles are?) The world that Victoria Schwab has built is very unique; I love the alternate worlds and the magic within them (or gone from them). I did have trouble warming up to the characters at first but I think, on the most part, they become more interesting to read about and invest emotions in during the second book. While I did find some faults in A Gathering of Shadows, I am still excited to read the conclusion of this trilogy.

 

  1. A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3)*

Expected publication: May 2, 2017

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.
As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

As you probably know, I love Sarah J. Maas. However, I had trouble liking this series. The first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses, dragged on for me and took me three tries to finish. Admittedly, A Court of Mist and Fury, is more entertaining as it contains more character development and action. However, since I read Empire of Storms first, I noticed that Sarah re-used a lot of things in her second book series, from phrases to entire plot-lines. While I don’t mind reading repeats in her works, I can’t help but feel a little disappointed. I do want to know what happens in A Court of Wings and Ruin but I hope it won’t spoil my enjoyment of Throne of Glass, #6.

 

  1. Ready Player One*9969571

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

I don’t really know all that much about this book and I’ve been turned off the dystopian genre after reading the disappointing conclusions to the Divergent and Maze Runner trilogies. However, this book has high ratings on Goodreads and endorsements from popular booktubers so I’m excited to give it a go. Additionally, this is one of the few stand-alone books on my list and sometimes I wish I could just finish a book and not have to deal with the agonizing wait for the next book.

 

  1. Caraval*27883214

Expected publication: January 31, 2017

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . .
Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.
Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.
But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.
Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

This blurb sounds so interesting. The premise of Caraval does remind me of The Night Circus but I haven’t read too many books about ~magical circuses~ so it’s still a fresh topic for me. The high Goodreads ratings and beautiful cover only make me want to read it even more.

 

  1. Untitled (His Fair Assassin, #4)

Expected publication: 2018

Robin LaFevers’ His Fair Assassin series follows three girls—Ismae, Sybella, and Annith—who are all daughters of Death and training to be assassins at the convent of St. Mortain. Each book follows one girl as she leaves the sanctuary of her convent and goes on missions to help the tiny French region of Brittany.

This series has a perfect blend of magical and historical elements. There are also female characters who are assassins. Um, what more can you ask for? Even though I wasn’t craving more of the series after the third book, I am pleasantly surprised at the thought that I can read more His Fair Assassin books.

 

  1. Truthwitch (The Witchlands, #1)*21414439

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.
Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.
Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.
In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

I did quite enjoy Susan Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly, but not enough to continue the series. However, after reading and hearing a lot of good things about Truthwitch, I’m excited to give her new series a shot!

 

Thanks for reading :) Let me know what books you can’t wait to read or what books I should put on this list. Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Freebie

  1. Mariela says:

    A few of these are on my TBR list too!
    This year I started in a reading mood too! Last year for some reason is was a little stressful. I have a lot to do at home this year ( changing all my floors upstairs all by myself) but I still am in a reading mood.
    I hope you get to read a lot!
    My TTT,

    Like

Leave a Reply

